Sign Up

Conducted by Dr. Laura Joella, the Florida Atlantic University Symphony Orchestra’s opening concert of the 30th season will present music by William Grant Still, known as the “Dean of African-American Composers.”  His orchestral suite, Wood Notes, showcases the natural beauty of the American South and was inspired by the poetry of J. Mitchell Pilcher. In celebration of our return to live performances, this evening’s concert will open with the jubilant sounds of Shostakovich’s Overture Festivo.  FAU Professor Dr. Juan Antonio Pena, will perform as the featured guest artist on Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s Concerto No. 1 in D Major for Classical Guitar and Orchestra, a beautiful work with influences from Spanish dances and the Italian countryside.


Event Details

  • Aaliyah Waldron
  • Kurt Kunselman

2 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity

Florida Atlantic University Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved